# Saskatchewan High School Ethics Bowl March 4<sup>th</sup>, 2023 Program



Schedule					
8:00 am	Registration				
	ARTS BUILDING ATRIUM (ground floor, by the piano)				
8:30 am	Welcoming Remarks				
	Dr. Pierre-François Noppen				
	Dr. Peta Bonham-Smith, Dean, College of Arts and Science				
	ARTS 241				
Round 1: Cases 1 and 2					
Team pairing for rounds 2, 3 and 4 will follow the Swiss system, including a bye. The bye					
for the first round goes to BR3.					
9:00 am	AB2 vs. BR2	AB1 vs. BR4	BR1 vs. EH1		
	Judges:	Judges:	Judges:		
	Dr. Emer O'Hagan	Dr. Peter Alward	Mehdi Ebrahimpour		
	Chloe Stainbrook	Dr. Maggie FitzGerald	Dr. John Liptay		
	Dr. George Williamson	Will Robbins	Emily Sinkewicz		
	Moderator:	Moderator:	Moderator:		
	John Barton	Jenna Matheson	Lauren O'Reilly		
	. = = 0.100				
	ARTS 100	ARTS 101	ARTS 106		
Round 2: Cases 3 and 4					
10:30 am	Judges:	Judges:	Judges:		
	Dr. Emer O'Hagan	Dr. Peter Alward	Mehdi Ebrahimpour		
	Chloe Stainbrook	Dr. Maggie FitzGerald	Dr. John Liptay		
	Dr. George Williamson	Will Robbins	Emily Sinkewicz		
	Moderator:	Moderator:	Moderator:		
	John Barton	Jenna Matheson	Aidan Laubscher		
	ARTS 100	ARTS 101	ARTS 106		

Round 3: Cases 5 and 6					
12:00 pm	Judges: Mehdi Ebrahimpour Dr. Maggie FitzGerald Dr. Sarah Hoffman  Moderator: John Barton	Judges: Kim Armstrong Dr. Ali Mirza Dr. Charles Smith  Moderator: Aidan Laubscher	Judges: Dr. John Liptay Dr. Rachel Loewen Walker Wenona Partridge  Moderator: Lauren O'Reilly		
	ARTS 100	ARTS 101	ARTS 106		
1:30 pm	Lu	nch – ARTS 202			
Round 4: Cases 7 and 8					
2:30 pm	Judges: Dr. Ali Mirza Dr. Sarah Hoffman Dr. George Williamson	Judges: Kim Armstrong Dr. John Liptay Chloe Stainbrook	Judges: Dr. Rachel Loewen Walker Dr. Emer O'Hagan Wenona Partridge		
	Moderator: Jenna Matheson  ARTS 100	Moderator: Aidan Laubscher  ARTS 101	Moderator: Lauren O'Reilly  ARTS 106		
4:15 pm	Final ream Ranked #1 vs. Tea	ound: Cases 9 and 10 m Ranked #2			
	Judges: Kim Armstrong Dr. Emer O'Hagan Dr. Charles Smith				
	Moderator: Jenna Matheson				
	ARTS 241				
5:45 pm	Closing Remarks and Ac Dr. Pierre-François Noppe Arts 241	_			

## **Judges**

Dr. Ali Mirza Postdoctoral Fellow, Philosophy of Science/Department of Geology, University

of Saskatchewan

Dr. Peter Alward Full Professor and Chair, Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan

Kim Armstrong Legal Aid Lawyer

Mehdi Ebrahimpour M.A., Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Maggie FitzGerald Assistant Professor, Political Studies, University of Saskatchewan Dr. Sarah Hoffman Associate Professor, Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. John Liptay Associate Professor, Philosophy, Saint Thomas More College, University of

Saskatchewan

Dr. Rachel Loewen Walker Assistant Professor, Women and Gender Studies, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Emer O'Hagan Full Professor, Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan

Will Robbins M.A. Philosophy/Organic Farmer

Emily Sinkewicz Philosophy M.A. Student, University of Saskatchewan Chloe Stainbrook Philosophy M.A. Student, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Charles Smith Associate Professor, Political Studies, Saint Thomas More College, University

of Saskatchewan

Wenona Partridge M.A. Philosophy/Graduate Career Educator, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. George Williamson Sessional lecturer, Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan

# Moderators

John Barton Philosophy Student, University of Saskatchewan Aidan Laubscher Philosophy Student, University of Saskatchewan Jenna Matheson Philosophy Student, University of Saskatchewan

Lauren O'Reilly Political Studies/Philosophy Student, University of Saskatchewan

### **Coaches & Teachers**

Richard Cossette Bedford Road Collegiate
Bradley Gibault Aden Bowman Collegiate
Sherry Van Hesteren Evan Hardy Collegiate

# **SHSEB Organizing and Logistics Team**

Dr. Sarah Hoffman Associate Professor, Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan

Brandon Johnson Commerce Student, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Pierre-François Noppen
Dr. Emer O'Hagan
Abouzar Tamassoki
Oleksa Wasylow
Yidi Zhao
Devon Zintel
Assistant Professor, Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan
Philosophy M.A. Student, University of Saskatchewan

A special thanks to all the donors who made this event possible!



# College of Arts and Science

DEPARTMENT OF PHILOSOPHY ARTSANDSCIENCE.USASK.CA